#sharetheloaves

Cathy's Flowers 2014-7guys, i can’t even tell you how proud this makes me: my mom is using my cookbook to bake bread. i mean, look at this, this is some of the gorgeous bread she is pulling out of her oven in her home in Vermont!!

Cathy's Flowers 2014-4

this brings a tear to my eye, i mean, my love of the kitchen began with her. (and my gramma, with whom i used to love watching cooking shows, most memorably the Galloping Gourmet, i mean, check him out -)

Screen shot 2014-08-09 at 4.26.02 PM

my mom taught me how to hang in the kitchen, and her cookbook collection was integral to my development as a baker, as an all around lover of cooking, and learning abut cooking and baking through cookbooks… and now she is using MY book!!! too good to be true, really, goodness gracious me.

Cathy's Flowers 2014-3

mama’s been taking lots of photos of her baked goods, and every time she sends me a photo my heart sings with joy. so yesterday she sent me a few photos of her sourdough pizza, and i damn near drove off the road (was driving back from week in LA in which i was absolutely floored by the excitement around baking, grains, the “artisan bread revolution”, but more to come on that later).

Cathy's Flowers 2014-2_1

without further ado, i would like to invite all of y’all who are baking from my book to SHARE THE LOAVES. and by that, i mean take a sweet pic of your bread, pizza, pocketbreads, whatever, and post it to Instagram or Twitter with the hashtag #sharetheloaves. there’s already a bunch up there as i started tagging photos a while back, other folks have picked up on it, and it would warm my heart to see what y’all are baking up.

and speaking of baking from the book, check out what these folks have been saying…

David Lebovitz

Lottie & Doof

Root Simple

The New York (frikkin) Times (!!!)

TheKitchn

so have at it people, please keeping sharing the loaves.

❤ j

Leave a comment